cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Welcome REI Co-op Members!
We're glad you're here. If you can't access the Co-op Members section of the community,
click here for instructions on how to join the section that's just for you.

Need help with photography?

Hello REI members. 

My name is Stephen Morton and I have been a news photographer for over 40 years and an REI member since 2007. Love, love, love the idea of this forum, and I am here to offer any advice about shooting photos while hiking, camping, traveling, or just walking through your favorite town and gear. I was a Nikon shooter for 30 years, now a Canon guy, and I am quite fond of my iPhone 11 pro. I'm not much of a tech geek, but I have a working knowledge of all of the above. My clients are the major print news organizations around the country.

Work hard, stay humble. 

Stephen

3 Replies

@Gatorboy 

Welcome to the community!

Thanks for the intro, you've got an impressive photography resumé. We've had a couple of other posts about cameras/photography that you may want to weigh in on:

On a personal note, I have a question: which three lenses do you feel are the most important? In other words, if you were going to purchase lenses for a DSLR, which should be the first three?

Thanks!

At REI, we believe time outside is fundamental to a life well lived.

@REI-JohnJ As you will read in my reply to one of the links you sent, I use a 16-35mm f2.8 and a 70-200mm f2.8. 

My simple answer is zoom lenses. They save space in your pack. With those two, you'll pretty much cover most of what you need. Of course, they are expensive and heavy, but the payback is worth it.